Upcoming webinar: Presenting oral histories

Wednesday, May 25th | 13:00 EDT | 10:00 PDT | 18:00 BST

 

Presenting oral histories

Unlock the value of your community’s stories with in-platform streaming, closed captions and fully searchable transcripts in Quartex

Oral histories allow people whose voices might not otherwise be heard to share their stories and experiences. But having captured these unique primary sources, how can they best be presented so that they can be heard and studied by researchers?

Audio-visual files can present unique challenges in terms of accessibility, display and playback, which is why Quartex has worked closely with repositories to understand these needs and develop capabilities that will allow oral histories and other types of audio-visual content to be experienced and enjoyed by as wide a range of users as possible.

In this session, we’ll explore how institutions are already presenting oral histories in Quartex, such as the South Asian Oral Histories in Peel project from the University of Toronto Mississauga and Baylor University’s Institute for Oral History collection, as well as public library systems that are using Quartex to build new collections of oral histories relating to their locality.

And we’ll highlight the platform features that enhance the value of these materials even further, such as playback controls, ease of discovery and navigation through editable transcriptions with timecodes and closed captions, and customisable metadata and controlled vocabularies.

Unlock your community’s stories with in-platform streaming, closed captions and fully searchable transcripts in Quartex.

Learn how institutions like yours are using our technology to present oral histories and take away actionable ideas for breathing new life into oral histories in your collections.

 

Register here >

 

Get in touch to find out more

If you have any queries regarding the Quartex platform please contact us.